Subba’s Serendipitous moments

September 20, 2009

How to find meaning?

Last week as I was involved in a deep discussion with a good friend of mine, (I also happened to coach him in a difficult professional transition) I had an epiphany. He asked me whether I found the meaning of life.

The question was sudden without any preamble and as he looked deeply in my eyes, I discovered that I have been in a similar quest perhaps all my life. I only don’t know whether I have finished finding the meaning of my own existence.

Meaning is not something that you find as you normally try to find a location in a map. It is not something that you look for as you would for an item in a supermarket.

It is something that one has to build in one’s life. The elements to build it is already there in one’s consciousness. It is built out of one’s own past, out of one’s own talent and aspirations for oneself. It is based on the values that one has developed and what one stand for. It is based on the things that one believes in and out of the things that one cares about in a deep sense.

Now, each of us have to take the elements and combine that into a unique pattern that will resonate with oneself. The discovery of that unique pattern could take years. Once discovered, it becomes precious.

Meaning guides a person and sometimes becomes the raison d’être for one’s existence. It is nourishing and provides the dignity to one’s life.

I also discovered a strange connection between the outcomes of events and the meaning of life. A material success which doesn’t resonate with the meaning in one’s life seems hollow, superficial and doesn’t give much joy. A success that’s congruent with one’s meaning in life gives fulfillment.

Has anyone else found meaning of life? How did you all find it?

I would be curious to know.

2 Comments »

  1. I do not believe that man can truly nail down objectively/scientifically the meaning of life. The thing is: can we uncover the true meaning of life a priori? Many people just take it on faith according to their religions/beliefs. Some people may have an answer to this question you pose but scratch off the surface, we may possibly find that an individual’s “answer” could merely be something subjective that sustains his will to live.

    Comment by kFoong — September 30, 2009 @ 2:17 pm | Reply

  2. Meditate.

    Comment by Lee Ching Yan — August 18, 2011 @ 2:07 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

